Wish Upon A Star

Tonight is going to be a great night for wishing.

Santa only gives you 3 wishes. Same for the magic genie, and he’s even harder to get ahold of. Tonight will trump Santa big-time.

Tonight is the Perseid meteor shower (<—Click here to read more). I have never seen any of the other meteor showers that occur throughout the year, but I’ve seen the Leonids several times, and it is spectacular when you get a good dark sky and have a little caffeine to keep you awake. The peak hours are from midnight to just before dawn. But if you don’t mind laying around outside in the dark for a while, you will definitely see some before midnight too. Just be prepared to bundle up, it tends to get cold and wet.  

One year, my brother and I decided to sleep outside during the meteor shower. We grabbed our sleeping bags and slept on reclining pool chairs. Several times I woke up from the cold and just stared into the sky for a couple minutes. During those early morning hours, I was amazed by the huge fireballs that grazed through the sky, forming long streaks that lasted up to 5 seconds — which is pretty long for a “shooting star”! 

And no, I was not dreaming, I promise. Thanks a lot.

Honestly, folks, it’s amazing. And tonight is supposed to be optimal for meteor viewing.

When I consider Your heavens,

The work of your hands,

What is man that You are mindful of him?

The son of man that You care for him?

Oh Lord, our Lord, how majestic is Your name in all the earth!

Psalm 8:3-4,9

You will never read this passage the same. The splendor with which our Creator has clothed His creation is beyond breathtaking.  No man-made beauty can compare to His natural wonders. Our God loves to delight us with His art. As if creating us and loving us and forgiving us wasn’t enough, He also longs to give us joy and fill us with wonder.

Posted on August 12, 2010, in Faith, Family, Nostalgia, Recommendations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. He is an amazing God! We saw a few of his creations streaking thru the sky last night, but not many. It was too early. May try again tonight. Who knows, maybe there will be some left over for the weekend!

  2. I wish I had the werewithal to do that… it sounds beautiful.

  3. Oh, I didn’t know there was a meteor shower coming up! Maybe I Derek and I can sit outside for a while tonight and watch!

  4. 🙂 Read your comment at Hope Road, and stopped by. Love your blog! 🙂 We were camping thursday night, and so we were deep in the Washington State Forest watching this Meteor Shower. It was an AMAZING experience!

    • That’s great! I’m glad you were able to see it! Unfortunately I didn’t last too long… we got pretty sleepy before midnight even hit! But I did manage to see 2 in the short time we were out there. Such an awesome experience! 🙂

  5. That’s amazing! I saw a comet once – Hailey’s Comet, I think – and it was fun, but only a bitty thing way up there in the sky. What you describe … WOW!

    I love this bit of your post especially:

    “Our God loves to delight us with His art. As if creating us and loving us and forgiving us wasn’t enough, He also longs to give us joy and fill us with wonder.”

    So true … and so wonderful too!!!

Leave a comment